• Kobus Moolman
  • Ladan Osman
  • Clifton Gachagua
  • Gabriel Okara
  • Safia Elhillo- Sillerman 2016 Winner
  • Tatu


The African Poetry Book Series is the major imprint of the African Poetry Book Fund. The Series consist of The New-Generation of African Poets Chapbook Set, New and Selected/Collected Series, Winners of the Sillerman and Glenna Luschei Prizes and African Poetry Translations.
2015 Winner.  Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets
Coming in 2016
Gabriel Okara
New Generation of African Poets-Tatu

African Poetry Libraries

Small poetry libraries on the African continent supporting aspiring and established poets.

The Prizes

The APBF administers three poetry book prizes annually, the Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poetry, The Glenna Luschei Prize for African Poetry , and in collaboration with Brunel University , the Brunel University African Poetry Prize.
Established to promote African poetry written in English or in translation and awarded to a significant book published each year by an African poet.
The Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets will be awarded to an African writer who has not published a book-length poetry collection.
The Brunel University African Poetry Prize will be awarded for a selection of poems by an African poet.