The judges of the Prize have now decided on a shortlist for the prize which is for immediate release.

The winner will be announced on 30th April 2013. For more information on the prize, please see below and visit the rest of this website.

The judges are Sharmilla Beezmohun, Kwame Dawes, Karen McCarthy Woolf, Mpalive Msiska and Chair, Bernardine Evaristo. Out of 655 entries, the judges came up with a shortlist of six poets, none of whom has yet published a full length book.

The shortlisted poets are: Peter Akinlabi from Nigeria; Viola Allo from Cameroon; Lena Bezawork Grönlund from Ethiopia; Kayo Chingonyi from Zambia; Chielozona Eze from Nigeria; Warsan Shire from Somalia.



Share →